2014 Steering Committee Election Results

The election to fill the seven seats of the GLASS Steering Committee for the 2014-2015 term has concluded. The following candidates received the most votes and will begin their one-year term on March 1, 2014:

  • Madeline Bermes
  • Brian Conlan
  • Laura Erickson Hatalsky
  • Adam Henderson
  • Julian Miller
  • Andrew Ott
  • Michael Thorning

Per the organization’s bylaws, GLASS members who paid their 2014 dues by February 8th and are current Senate employees received a ballot. Of those, 65% voted in the election. Last year, voter turnout was 67%. In 2012, turnout was 82%.

Thanks to all candidates for stepping forward and offering your talents, skills, and commitment to GLASS for the year ahead. Special thanks to Kyle Chapman for serving as election witness. A transition meeting was held on Tuesday, February 25 to choose leadership positions among the elected members and to set the 2014 meeting schedule.

Members of the Steering Committee carry out the mission of the organization and respond to current issues affecting LGBT staff. They also plan educational, social and networking events throughout the year, from running the GLASS mentorship program to sponsoring happy hours and legislative briefings. For more information about the Steering Committee, please visit https://glasscaucus.org/steeringcommitee/.

Thanks to all members that took the time to learn about the candidates, paid 2014 dues, and voted in this election. Your time, energy, and support are what make GLASS not only possible, but worthwhile.

Published by

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: